OVHC Basics 12 min read 2026-10-01

Subclass 651 eVisitor: 3 months per visit within a 12-month period

Explains the subclass 651 rule of up to 3 months per visit within a 12-month period for visitor or business purposes and its relationship to Medibank OVHC.

According to Medibank’s visa summary, subclass 651 eVisitor allows visits to Australia for up to 3 months at a time within a 12-month period for visitor or business purposes. For OVHC, Medibank’s short-stay cover page includes subclass 651 among the visa categories for which its cover is generally suitable and says it can help cover essential and emergency treatment. Medibank says its visa information is sourced from the Department of Home Affairs and was accurate as of May 2026; the linked information was checked 1 October 2026.

What does “3 months at a time within a 12-month period” mean?

The stated pattern separates the length of each visit from the overall 12-month reference period.

Point Medibank’s stated position
Visa eVisitor, subclass 651
Length per visit Up to 3 months at a time
Reference period Within a 12-month period
Purpose Visitor or visitor for business purposes

This is a per-visit maximum, not permission for one continuous 12-month stay. The summary does not state how many entries are allowed, so a traveller considering several shorter visits should not assume unlimited re-entry. Check the Department of Home Affairs information and the individual visa record for the applicable entry conditions.

How does this stay pattern relate to OVHC availability?

Subclass 651 is expressly included by Medibank among the visitor visa subclasses for which its Overseas Visitors Health Cover is generally suitable. Medibank also says its range of options can meet visa health-insurance requirements for people visiting Australia.

That makes subclass 651 a listed category for Medibank’s own short-stay OVHC. It does not mean every policy has the same benefits or that an insurer’s product listing replaces the Department of Home Affairs visa requirements. Visa permission and insurance suitability remain separate checks.

What should be checked before choosing cover?

Check What to confirm
Visa details Subclass 651, the permitted visitor or business purpose, the stay pattern and any health-insurance condition
Cover dates Start and end dates that cover the intended time in Australia
Multiple stays How the insurer applies the proposed cover period if the traveller plans to leave and return
Policy conditions Covered hospital and ambulance services, exclusions, waiting periods and possible out-of-pocket costs
Claim timing Deadlines and requirements that apply to the relevant treatment or accident

The insurer’s webpage is a starting point for identifying a potentially suitable product. Before purchasing or travelling, read the quote and policy documents and verify the current visa conditions through the Department of Home Affairs.

What does Medibank say its cover can help with?

Medibank describes its OVHC as including a comprehensive range of hospital services and unlimited emergency ambulance services Australia-wide. Its ambulance term applies where immediate professional attention is required and the medical condition means the person could not be transported another way.

Some referred services may involve out-of-pocket costs, and waiting periods may apply. Under Medibank’s accident terms:

  • The accident must occur in Australia after the cover starts.
  • Medical treatment must be sought within 7 days of the accident.
  • Hospital treatment must be received within 12 months of the accident.
  • The provision excludes claims covered by third parties and Medibank’s Private Room Promise.

Those claim conditions are separate from the subclass 651 stay rule. The 12-month accident deadline does not determine how long a subclass 651 visitor may remain in Australia.

Sources

FAQ

Can I make repeated visits under subclass 651?

The available summary describes stays of up to 3 months at a time within a 12-month period. It does not provide an entry count, so it should not be treated as a guarantee of unlimited re-entry. Check the Department of Home Affairs information for the proposed travel pattern.

Does 3 months at a time mean 3 months in total for the year?

The source does not state 3 months as a total annual allowance. Its wording sets a limit of up to 3 months at a time within a 12-month period. Because it gives no entry count, the Department of Home Affairs should be checked for a specific itinerary.

Is Medibank OVHC suitable for subclass 651?

Medibank’s own product page includes subclass 651 among the visa categories for which its OVHC is generally suitable. It says the cover can help with essential and emergency treatment, but the policy documents determine the actual benefits, exclusions and cover period.

What costs or deadlines should I check?

Some referred services may involve out-of-pocket costs, and waiting periods may apply. Under Medibank’s accident terms, medical treatment must be sought within 7 days and hospital treatment received within 12 months of the accident.

Need personalised help?

Our AI assistant can help you match a plan to your visa and health needs.